Pipe dreams and motivations

So it turns out most of the digital collections work I did today may have been in vain. I won’t bore you with the intimate details, but sometimes it happens that way. Sigh.

What was good about today was book day here at the library. Published authors talked about their process, inspiration, frustrations, etc. It was cool to see the different types of work that can be done, textbooks, non-fiction, and fiction. It made me realize this writing dream isn’t really too far-fetched. I may not be Faulkner, but I can just write for the sake of feeling slightly creative and see where it goes. My brainstreams blog is a good start. But I want to start some short story work, I kind of did that last night about my public library patron arch nemesis. Which I will just try to do more observation work on these tech center crazies, and pass the time that way. If nothing else, this whole movement made me attempt to clean up my laptop, which was on otherwise expensive paperweight thanks to ex jerk #1..

I have my great-grandmother’s and grandfather’s novel drafts that are burining a hole in my pocket at the moment.. I can’t believe my mom was just going to throw them away when she moved. I have been meaning to digitize them first to keep them safe lest any fire break out or whatever, but if I wanted to edit them I would have to convert to word using OCR tech and I don’t have that. A long time ago, I was bored and tried starting to transcribe them into word, but that takes a long time. I still might do it. Now I have time on my hands. I realized I haven’t even really read either of them all the way through I don’t want to say if they are “good” or “bad” I don’t want to judge them I want them to just be what they are.. I wonder if I should lightly edit, and try to get them published. I don’t know legally how that works if they are both long dead?

At the same time, I was kind of playing with the idea of going back to school for a PHD in history. This is a long shot dream, but now that I’m thinking of Keren’s book (the other Keren) maybe focusing on prostitution and the comstock lode, the Nevada area, etc. This could be something coming together in my brain. After all I have connections to the area as well, so If I have to go up to research I am familiar. This means I’ll get more degrees (yay!) But also more debt (boo) but also more writing (yay) and also more research (yay) but where is there time for all of this? It’s all just ideas right now. But I have to move forward on them before I get lazy and old and disconnected from any creativity I may have left.

There’s possibility out there I guess I just have to find it.

Leave a Reply

