Generic Inspirational New Years Post

Holy hell face. I’m so excited to be writing this from my new and improved office. Here’s the deal. I’ve been meaning to make a space for myself for a while. But you know, every reason to put it off. Well it was one of my goals in these 10 days off for break and I’m pleased to announce that with a little shuffling of a futon and the actual old desk I own (that now belongs to Chuck for reasons I don’t want to explain here) it’s done! I was able to get a cheapie chair and desk on Amazon with a credit I got for turning in my old phone, so that helped too. Upgrade central. I feel like I’ve been doing a lot of this the last month of this year. Out with the old and in with the new.

The holiday season always seems to leave me a little melancholy. I can’t say that Christmas as a single adult is especially exciting. I don’t want or need for anything tangible, I’m not especially religious so I don’t actually think it’s the day that Christ was born, and I don’t get to see any tiny excited faces, or carry out and long standing family traditions. Working at a mall makes the holiday rush and consumerism especially obvious and disappointing. I was having a conversation with somebody yesterday that told me that more heart attacks happen around the holiday season than any other time of the year. I know I’m off this week, but I have to research it now see if I still got it.

This study published recently in JAHA was really the best I could do:

https://doi.org/10.1161/JAHA.116.005098

I couldn’t find the original US study mentioned in the start of the article, however this one above was done in New Zealand to help counter the effect that Christmas in the Northern Hemisphere is during winter, and a time when we see spikes in cold and flu season. I guess it displays that there are a slight number more deaths around the holiday season in both cold and warm climates, but they can’t discern exactly why. It could be because of more over consumption of unhealthy foods, sugary deserts and yep, alcohol.  Honestly I’ve probably gained at least 5 pounds myself in the last two weeks. We’re all in the same boat and it’s sinking from overindulgences. I think I’ve said F it, it’s the holidays more times lately than I care to admit.

So I guess I had to kind of agree with this statement, although I couldn’t find solid proof, lots of articles from TIME and other websites with are smothered in ads, so I really didn’t want to trust them. The holidays mean different things to different people, so I can’t speak for everybody but I’m certainly glad that they are almost over. I do enjoy the lull between Christmas and New Year’s, where everything just seems to be asleep. Everybody slows down and reflects. The massive rush of the year has come to an end. You know what happened good and bad, you can think about the past, let it go, and get ready to make space for all the great new things to unravel. The construct of time is actually refreshing when you can physically see a year leave, and know that a new one is taking its place. I did some purging of items this last week for sure, also scrubbing, rearranging and saging the house to clear out old energy. It may surprise you to see how much you can really get rid of if you challenge yourself to do so.

Leave a Reply

