Study Room Blues

Today I’m left in tech for another hour, and I can’t do any more cataloging so… What left to do but blog really? I haven’t done a blog from the public sphere in while so here goes.

It’s been a zoo over here lately. A freaking zoo. I mean it always is, but even more so. It’s like one of those things where you ask yourself is there any way I could be any busier? Then somebody throws another ball into your juggling routine and you really are trying not to die, and still juggling and somehow not dying or dropping the balls but knowing it just a matter of time until you just can’t handle it anymore….

Who ever said libraries aren’t busy places? Two phone lines ringing constantly, a line of people wanting to make passport appointments, looking for books, etc. Trying to build new things and start new programs all being understaffed and stretching everybody so paper thin. It’s a lot, and mainly why I haven’t been blogging from here too often. Just no time, when I leave here I’m brain dead from constant question fielding.

One of the main questions we get often is about our study rooms. Like most libraries we have several quiet study rooms where people can come and reserve them for up to two hours per group per day. You can call and reserve them only a day in advance no sooner, and you can’t try to be cute and say you are just going to use another group member’s card and get more time. These freaking rooms book up like hotcakes. I work Monday morning right when we open and I literally answer about 4 messages and 10 calls only about study rooms, and that’s only in the first hour. There is never enough room or time and nobody can believe it when they just can’t get the reservation they want. It’s crazy. Some people get it, but some also don’t. I’ve had many a conversation that goes like this:

Them:

I would like to reserve a study room today please at 3:30-5:00 for 4 people

Me:

We don’t have anything open at that time, we have something from 2:30-3:30 if you want to come earlier, or openings again after 6.

Them:

Oh I’m looking for something from 3:30-5:00 for four people.

Me:

Yes I understand, we don’t have any room available at that time. Again, we do have some earlier and later as I mentioned but nothing from 3:30-5:00.

Them:

So you don’t have anything from 3:30 to 5:00.

Me:

We don’t have anything available at that time.

Them:

What about the Rowling room, is that open at 3:30?

Me:

We don’t have anything available at that time.

Them:

What about the big room, with the windows?

Me:

We don’t have anything available at that time.

Them:

(long pause) Oh, ok thank you then.

Me:

(Wanting to slam the phone down because I have to say the same thing over and over and we don’t have anything at that time! Stop wasting my time and your time and listen to the words that are coming out of my mouth, ahhhhhhhhhh)

You’re welcome have a nice day.

**Repeat multiple times a day**

Or you get those sneaky ones who think they can have extra time and that you can’t add numbers.

Them:

Ok give me the Rowling room from 5:30-8:00

Me:

It’s a two hour maximum, so I can do 5:30-7:30

Them:

Yes I want the whole time 5:30 to 8:00

Me:

Ok it’s a two hour max, so I can only book you until 7:30

Them:

I want the room until 8

Me:

It’s a two hour maximum so 7:30 is the latest

Them:

OH, sorry I was miscounting. Hahaha

Me:

(Smiles at them but knows that it’s not that hard to add 2 to 5 and get 7 and that this lady is up to no good)

Hahah it’s ok I have you in Rowling until 7:30.

I have tried thinking of things that could make this more efficient. Maybe an online reservation system? Charging for the rooms could deter people from wanting to use them? But I guess that’s not the point, we want people to come here, we want them to use resources, but we just don’t seem to have enough to go around staff wise or room wise these days. *insert long exasperated sigh*

 

Leave a Reply

