A Day Without A Woman

I just recently found out two things. The first is that March is Women’s History month, which being a woman I suppose I should have already known. The second is that in two days, Wednesday March 8, is named International Woman’s Day. I found this out because we changed our display in the library at the U, and I was asked to make a lib guide with information to accompany the holiday. You can find it here;

http://laverne.libguides.com/womenshistorymonth

If you are not a student, you probably wouldn’t care about our library’s resources since you can’t access them, but take a peek though at the info about international women’s day on the first page, and pledge through the widget how you will be an advocate for women in this next year. I will actually tally the results at the end of the month, but believe it or not, as much as we here in the library world love libguides, the general public doesn’t care for the most part so I only have 4 respondents so far and I think they were all me testing it out… But, let me just keep cramming information and resources down your throat please  it’s one of my favorite things to do.

Since we are closed this Sunday, I will be “working” this Wednesday, but through the U we are allowed to skip out on our work duties for the day to participate in yoga, meditation sessions, free chair massages, and other pretty sweet things. How cool is that?

The whole campaign is called “A Day without a Woman” and it’s being sponsored by the Women’s March on Washington. There are a few things that they are trying to organize on this day, they are asking women to:

1) Take the day off of paid and unpaid labor, if you are able to.

2) Avoid shopping for one day (unless women owned or minority owned small business).

3) Wear red for solidarity.

Find out more about the campaign here: https://www.womensmarch.com/womensday/

Everybody I’ve been talking to about it has told me that International Women’s Day is a pretty big thing in other countries around the world, but I’ve never even heard of it. I’m happy I get to be a part of it. It just makes me think of all the women in my life that have made a difference. I’ve known some pretty amazing ones. So, even if you aren’t a woman, or can’t celebrate fully by taking the day off, maybe take some time to let your mom, sister, wife, girlfriend, favorite female librarian (wink) that you appreciate them.

Leave a Reply

